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CHAPTER 5. ANIMALS. 
 
 Article I. In General. 
 
§ 5-1.  Lawful fences. 
 

The boundary line of each lot or tract of land and any stream in the county shall be a 
lawful fence as to any livestock domesticated by man.  (3/28/67) 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code § 55-310. 
 
Sections 5-2 through 5-10 reserved. 
                                         
 Article II. Licensing of Dogs. 
 
§ 5-11.  Unlicensed dogs prohibited. 
 

It shall be unlawful for any person to own a dog four months old or older in the county 
unless such dog is licensed as required by the provisions of this article. (Ords.6-13-62; 9-13-72; 
11-28-72) 

 
State law reference--Virginia Code §§ 3.2-6524 and 3.2-6543. 
 
§ 5-12.  Evidence showing inoculation for rabies prerequisite to obtaining dog license. 
 

No license tag shall be issued for any dog unless there is presented, to the treasurer or 
other duly authorized issuing agency, evidence satisfactory to him showing that such dog has 
been inoculated or vaccinated against rabies by a currently licensed veterinarian. 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code §§ 3.2-6529. 
 
§ 5-13.  How to obtain license. 
 

A.  Any person may obtain a dog license by making oral or written application to the 
treasurer of the county, accompanied by the amount of the license tax and current certificate of 
vaccination as required by this article. 
 

B.  Upon receipt of proper application and current certificate of vaccination as required 
by this article, the treasurer or other officer charged with the duty of issuing dog licenses shall 
issue a license receipt for the amount on which he shall record the name and address of the 
owner or custodian, the date of payment, the year or years for which issued and the serial number 
of the tag, and deliver the metal license tags or plates provided for in this article. 

 
C.  The treasurer may establish substations in convenient locations in the county and 

appoint agents for the collection of the license tax and issuance of such licenses. (6/13/62) 
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State law reference--Virginia Code §§ 3.2-6527. 
 
§ 5-14.  Amount of license tax. 
 

A.  There is hereby imposed a license tax on the ownership of dogs within the county, 
unless otherwise exempted by law. 
 

B.  The annual license tax on a fertile dog not in a licensed kennel shall be Ten Dollars 
($10.00).  A multi-year license tax that runs concurrently with the dog’s rabies vaccination 
effective period shall be Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00). 
 

C.  The annual license tax on a neutered or infertile dog shall be Six Dollars ($6.00).  A 
multi-year license tax that runs concurrently with the dog’s rabies vaccination effective period 
shall be Fifteen Dollars ($15.00).  Any person who applies for a license tag for a neutered or 
infertile dog shall present at the time of application certification from a licensed veterinarian 
attesting the neutering or infertility of the dog.  If such certification is not so presented, the dog 
shall be taxed the fee levied on fertile dogs. 
 

D.  The tax for each kennel shall be calculated at the rate of fifty Dollars ($50.00) for 
each block of up to twenty dogs.   

 
E. For purposes of this chapter, "kennel" means an enclosure with five or more dogs.  

 
(Ords. 6/13/62; 9/13/72; 11/28/72; 5/5/92; 9/23/09; 3/10/10, eff. 1/10/10) 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code §§ 3.2-6528. 
 
§ 5-15.  When license tax payable. 
 

A.  On January 1 and not later than January 31 of each year a license tax is due, the 
owner of any dog four months old or older shall pay a license tax as prescribed in section 5-14 of 
this article. 
 

B.  If a dog becomes four months of age or comes into the possession of any person 
between January 1 and November 1 of any year, the license tax for the current calendar year 
shall be paid by the owner. 
 

C.  If a dog becomes four months of age or comes into the possession of any person 
between October 31 and December 31 of any year, the license tax for the succeeding calendar 
year shall be paid by the owner and this license shall be valid from the date the license is 
purchased. (Ord. 6/13/62) 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code §§ 3.2-6530. 
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§ 5-16.  Effect of dog not bearing tag as evidence. 
 

Any dog not wearing a collar bearing a license tag of the proper calendar year shall prima 
facie be deemed to be unlicensed, and in any proceedings under this article the burden of proof 
of the fact that such dog has been licensed, or is otherwise not required to bear a tag at the time, 
shall be on the owner of the dog. 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code §§ 3.2-6533. 
 
§ 5-17.  Of what dog license shall consist. 
 

A.  A dog license shall consist of a license receipt and a metal tag.  The tag shall be 
stamped or otherwise permanently marked to show that the county issued the license and bear a 
serial number. 
 

B.  A kennel license shall consist of a license receipt which shall show that the county 
issued the license, shall show the number of dogs authorized to be kept under such license, and 
shall bear a serial number.  It shall also consist of metal tags for the individual dogs, each of 
which shall be stamped or otherwise permanently marked to show that the county issued the 
license and bear a serial number. (6/13/62) 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code §§ 3.2-6526. 
 
§ 5-18.  Duplicate license tags. 
 

If a dog license tag shall become lost, destroyed or stolen, the owner or custodian shall at 
once apply to the treasurer or his agent who issued the original license for a duplicate license tag, 
presenting the original license receipt.  Upon affidavit of the owner or custodian before the 
treasurer or his agent that the original license tag has been lost, destroyed or stolen, he shall issue 
a duplicate license tag which the owner or custodian shall immediately affix to the collar of the 
dog.  The treasurer or his agent shall endorse the number of the duplicate and the date issued on 
the face of the original license receipt.  The fee for a duplicate tag for any dog shall be one 
dollar. (Ords. 6/13/62; 9/13/72) 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code §§ 3.2-6532. 
 
§ 5-19.  Displaying receipts; dogs to wear tags. 
 

A.  Dog and kennel license receipts shall be carefully preserved by the licensees and 
exhibited promptly on request for inspection by any animal warden or other officer. 
 

B.  Dog license tags shall be securely fastened to a substantial collar by the owner or 
custodian and worn by the licensed dog. 
 

C.  It shall be unlawful for the owner to permit any licensed dog four months old or older 
to run or roam at large at any time without a license tag. 
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D.  The owner or custodian of the dog may remove the collar and license tag required by 

this section when (i) the dog is engaged in lawful hunting, (ii) the dog is competing in a dog 
show, (iii) the dog has a skin condition which would be exacerbated by the wearing of a collar, 
(iv) the dog is confined, or (v) the dog is under the immediate control of the owner or custodian. 
 

E.  A kennel dog shall not be permitted to stray beyond the limits of the enclosure but 
this shall not prohibit removing dogs therefrom temporarily while under the immediate control of 
the owner or custodian. (Ord. 6/13/62) 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code §§ 3.2-6531. 
 
§ 5-20.  Payment of license tax subsequent to summons. 
  

Payment of the license tax subsequent to a summons to appear before a court for failure 
to pay the license tax within the time required shall not operate to relieve such owner from the 
penalties provided. 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code §§ 3.2-6536. 
 

Article III.  Control of Dogs. 
 
§ 5-21.  Running at large defined. 
 

A.  A dog shall be deemed to run at large while roaming, running or self-hunting off the 
property of its owner or custodian and not under its owner's or custodian's immediate control. 

 
B.  A dog shall not be deemed under its owner's or custodian's immediate control unless 

it is under restraint. 
A dog under restraint shall mean any dog (i) secured by a leash or lead, (ii) under the control of a 
responsible person and obedient to that person's commands, (iii) within the real property limits 
of its owner or other person consenting to its presence, or (iv) restrained as a hunting dog as 
provided by state law.  (Ord. 9/26/78) 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code § 3.2-6538. 
 
§ 5-22.  Dogs prohibited from running at large. 
 

It shall be unlawful for any dog to run at large at any time anywhere in the county.  Any 
person who permits his dog to run at large shall be deemed to have violated the provisions of this 
section.  (Ord. 9/26/78) 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code §§ 3.2-6538. 
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§ 5-23. Dogs not inoculated prohibited from running at large. 
 

It shall be unlawful for any dog which has not been inoculated or vaccinated against 
rabies to run at large at any time anywhere in the county.  A dog shall be deemed not inoculated 
if its owner or custodian cannot produce proof of current rabies vaccination.  Any person who 
permits his dog which is not inoculated to run at large shall be deemed to have violated the 
provisions of this section. 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code § 3.2-6522. 
 
§ 5-24.   Destructive dogs prohibited from running at large. 
 

It shall be unlawful for any destructive dog to run at large at any time anywhere in the 
county.  For the purpose of this article, a dog shall be deemed destructive if it (i) has bitten a 
person, (ii) is of proven bad temper, (iii) has killed or injured a domestic pet, livestock or 
domestic fowl, or (iv) has damaged or destroyed personal property or real estate not belonging to 
its owner or custodian, and against which a complaint has been filed on an appropriate form 
supplied by the animal warden.  A destructive dog shall not be considered under restraint unless 
it is properly muzzled so as to prevent it from biting any person, domestic pet, livestock or fowl. 
 Any person who permits his destructive dog to run at large shall be deemed to have violated the 
provisions of this section. (Ords. 3/13/68; 10/23/02) 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code § 3.2-6525. 
 
§ 5-24.1.  Control of dangerous and vicious dogs. 
   
 A. If a canine or canine crossbreed previously declared a dangerous dog pursuant to 
Virginia Code § 3.1-796.93:1, when such declaration arose out of a separate and distinct 
incident, attacks and injures or kills a cat or dog that is a companion animal belonging to another 
person, the owner or custodian of such canine or canine crossbreed shall be guilty of a Class 2 
misdemeanor.   
 
 B. If a canine or canine crossbreed previously declared a dangerous dog pursuant to 
Virginia Code § 3.1-796.93:1, when such declaration arose out of a separate and distinct 
incident, bites a human being or attacks a human being causing bodily injury, the owner or 
custodian of such canine or canine crossbreed shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. 
 
 C. If the owner of any canine or canine crossbreed declared a dangerous dog 
pursuant to Virginia Code § 3.1-796.93:1 willfully fails to comply with the requirements 
imposed as a result of such declaration shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. 
 
 D. The provisions of subsections A and B of this section shall not apply to any 
animal that, at the time of the acts complained of, was responding to pain or injury, or was 
protecting itself, its kennel, its offspring, a person, or its owner's or custodian’s property, or 
when the animal is a police dog that is engaged in the performance of its duties at the time of the 
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attack. 
(Ord.10/23/02; 8/23/06, eff. retroactively to 7/1/06) 
State law reference—Virginia Code § 3.2-6540. 
 
§ 5-25.  Impoundment. 
 

A.  The board of supervisors shall maintain or cause to be maintained a pound or 
enclosure in accordance with state law and shall cause dogs running at large in violation of 
article III of this chapter to be confined therein. 
 

B.  Any animal which has been so confined must be kept for a period of not less than five 
days, such period to commence on the day immediately following the day the animal is initially 
confined to the facility, unless sooner claimed by the owner thereof. 
 

C.  In the event that any animal confined in such facility is claimed by its rightful owner, 
the owner shall only be charged with the actual expenses incurred in keeping the animal 
impounded. 
 

D.  Unclaimed dogs shall be disposed of in accordance with applicable state laws. 
 

E.  The pound shall be accessible to the public at reasonable hours during the week by 
appointment. 

 
(Ords. 9/26/78; 5/22/79; 9/23/09) 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code §§ 3.2-6546. 
 
§ 5-26.  Records. 
 

An animal warden or the custodian of any pound, upon taking custody of any animal in 
the course of his official duties, shall immediately make a record of the matter in a daily log.  
The record shall include a description of the animal including color, breed, sex, approximate 
weight, reason for seizure, location of seizure, the owner's name and address if known, all 
license or other identification numbers and the disposition of the animal. 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code § 3.2-6557. 
 
§ 5-27.  Dogs killing other domestic animals other than livestock or poultry. 
 

A.  Dogs which kill other dogs or domestic animals other than livestock or poultry shall 
be confined as provided in this section. 

 
B.  Any animal warden who has reason to believe that any dog is killing, or has killed, 

other dogs or domestic animals, within or without the county, other than livestock or poultry 
shall apply to a magistrate of the county, city or town wherein the dog may be located for the 
issuance of a warrant requiring the owner or custodian, if known, to appear before a general 
district court at a specified time. 
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C.  The animal warden or owner shall confine the dog until such time as evidence shall 

be heard and a verdict rendered. 
 

D.  If it appears from the evidence that the dog has habitually killed other dogs or 
domestic animals, the court may order the dog killed in accordance with state law. 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code § 3.1-796.117. 
 
Sections 5-28 through 5-30 reserved. 
 
 Article IV.  Compensation for Livestock and Poultry Killed 
 by Dogs. 
 
§ 5-31.  Compensation provided. 
 

Any person who has any livestock or poultry killed or injured by any dog not his own 
shall be entitled to receive as compensation the fair market value of such livestock or poultry, 
not to exceed limits established by state law, provided the requirements of this article have been 
met. (Ord.4/24/79) 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code §§ 3.2-6553. 
 
§ 5-32.  Requirements for compensation. 
 

No person shall be entitled to receive compensation under section 5-31 unless: 
 

A.  The claimant has furnished evidence within sixty days of discovery of the quantity 
and value of the dead or injured livestock and the reasons the claimant believes that death or 
injury was caused by a dog; 
 

B.  The animal warden shall have been notified of the incident within seventy-two hours 
of its discovery; 
 

C.  The animal warden has conducted an investigation which included a visual 
examination of the dead or injured livestock; 
 

D.  The board of supervisors of Augusta County, Virginia, has determined that the claim 
is supported by the investigation of the animal warden; and 
 

E.  The claimant first has exhausted his legal remedies against the owner, if known, of the 
dog doing the damage for which compensation under section 5-31 is sought.  Exhaustion shall 
mean a judgment against the owner of the dog upon which an execution has been returned 
unsatisfied.  (Ords. 4/24/79; 3/12/86) 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code §§ 3.2-6553. 
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§ 5-33.  Subrogation. 
 

Upon payment under section 5-31, the board of supervisors of Augusta County, Virginia, 
shall be subrogated to the extent of compensation paid to the right of action to the owner of the 
livestock or poultry against the owner of the dog and may enforce the same in an appropriate 
action at law.  (Ord. 4/24/79) 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code §§ 3.2-6553. 
 
§ 5-34.  Penalty for false claim. 
 

For any person to present a false claim or to receive any money on a false claim under the 
provisions of this article shall constitute a Class 1 misdemeanor. 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code §§ 3.2-6587. 
 
Sections 5-35 through 5-40 reserved. 
 
 
 Article V. Diseased and Deceased Fowl. 
 
§ 5-41.  Importation of diseased fowl and carcasses of  
diseased fowl prohibited. 
 

It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to import, haul or transport into or through 
Augusta County any diseased fowl or carcasses of diseased fowl from areas subject to any lawful 
quarantine declared by any federal, state or local governmental agency without being properly 
permitted by the department of health or the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services and with the concurrence of the Augusta County Board of Supervisors.  (Ord. 6/24/84). 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code § 15.2-1200. 
 
§ 5-42.  Disposal of diseased fowl off-site prohibited. 
 

A.  It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to deposit, dump or bury diseased fowl 
or carcasses of diseased fowl, which have been determined to have contracted a disease within 
an area subject to any lawful quarantine declared by any federal, state or local governmental 
agency, on property located within Augusta County, unless the property is the site where said 
fowl were ordinarily maintained and kept at the time the disease was detected. 
 

B.  Nothing herein shall be deemed to require on-site disposal of such fowl and carcasses 
where a determination is made by the Virginia Department of Health or the Virginia Department 
of Agriculture and Consumer Services that on-site disposal would increase the risk of spread of 
contagious diseases among persons, animals or fowl or would be hazardous to the environment. 
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C.  In the event on-site disposal is not approved by the Virginia Department of Health or 
the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, such fowl and carcasses may be 
deposited and disposed of by methods approved by the Virginia Department of Health at 
locations within the county approved by the Virginia Department of Health or the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.  (Ord. 4/24/84) 
 
Sections 5-43 through 5-50 reserved. 
 
 Article VI.  Enforcement. 
 
§ 5-51.  Penalties. 
 

The following shall be unlawful acts and constitute misdemeanors, and any person 
convicted thereof shall be subject to the following authorized punishments: 
 

A.  For any dog owner to own a dog four months or older in the county without a license 
in violation of section 5-11, a fine of not less than ten dollars ($10.00) and not more than two 
hundred fifty dollars ($250.00). 
 

B.  For any dog owner to allow a dog to run at large in violation of section 5-22, a fine of 
not less than twenty five dollars ($25.00) and not more than two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00). 
 

C.  For any dog owner to allow a dog not inoculated to run at large in violation of section 
5-23, a fine of not less than fifty dollars ($50.00) and not more than two hundred fifty dollars 
($250.00). 
 

D.  For any dog owner to allow a vicious dog to run at large in violation of section 5-24, 
a fine of not less than one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) and not more than two hundred fifty 
dollars ($250.00). 
 

E.  For any person to violate any other provision of this chapter for which specific 
penalty is not provided, a fine of not less than ten dollars ($10.00) and not more than two 
hundred fifty dollars (250.00). 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code §§ 3.2-6587. 
 
§ 5-52.  Power to issue summons. 
 

When in uniform or upon displaying a badge or other credentials of office, animal 
wardens and deputy animal wardens shall have the power to issue a summons to any person 
found in the act of violating any provision of this chapter. 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code §§ 3.2-6543 and 3.2-6555. 
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§ 5-53.  Issuance and service of summons in place of warrant. 
 

A.  Whenever any person is found violating any provision of this chapter punishable as a 
Class 3 or Class 4 misdemeanor or any other misdemeanor for which he cannot receive a jail 
sentence, the animal warden or other authorized authority shall take the name and address of 
such person and issue a summons or otherwise notify him in writing to appear at a time and 
place to be specified in such summons or notice. 
 

B.  Upon the giving by such person of his written promise to appear at such time and 
place, the animal warden or other authorized authority shall forthwith release him from custody. 
  
 

C.  If any such person shall fail or refuse to discontinue the unlawful act, the animal 
warden or other authorized authority may proceed according to the Commonwealth's procedures 
for arrest without warrant. 
 

D.  Any person refusing to give written promise to appear under the provisions of this 
section shall be taken immediately by the animal warden or other authorized authority before a 
magistrate or other issuing authority having jurisdiction, who shall proceed according to the 
Commonwealth's procedures for arrest without warrant. 
 

E.  Any person who willfully violates his written promise to appear, given in accordance 
with this section, shall be treated in accordance with the Commonwealth's procedures and 
penalties for failure to appear. 
 
State law reference--Virginia Code §§ 3.2-6555 and 19.2-74. 
 
 
§ 5-54.  Violation of chapter; notice. 
 

The treasurer may, on a form to be provided by the county, notify a dog owner by 
certified mail at his last known address, that the dog owner may pay the dog license fee within 
the time specified by the notice together with the added cost of the certified mailing and, if such 
fee is not paid within the time so prescribed, the treasurer will notify the animal warden or other 
authorized authority that the dog owner has failed to pay such fee within the time so prescribed 
and a summons will be issued to appear before the general district court. 
 
(Ord. 9/23/09) 

 
 
 

ARTICLE VII.  Coyotes. 
 
§ 5-61.  Killing of coyotes. 
 
 It shall be lawful for any person to kill coyotes within the boundaries of Augusta County 
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at any time, provided that, as to the property on which any such coyote is killed, (i) such person 
owns the property, (ii) such person is the lawful tenant in possession of the property, (iii) such 
person has the permission of the owner or lawful tenant in possession of the property to kill such 
coyote, or (iv) such property is owned by the Commonwealth of Virginia or the United States of 
America. 
 
§ 5-62.  Payment of bounty for coyotes and § 5-63.  Penalty for false claims repealed by 
ordinance dated May 12, 2010, effective July 1, 2010. 
 
(Ord. 10/12/05, eff. 1/1/06; 5/12/10, eff. 7/1/10) 
 
State law reference—Virginia Code § 15.2-926.1.  

 


